Teachable costs far less: Starter is $39 a month (with a 7.5% fee on sales) and Builder is $89 with 0%. Kajabi Basic is $179 a month, takes no revenue share, and adds what Teachable's pricing page doesn't list: unlimited marketing emails for 2,500 contacts, funnels, a website and a community. If you only need to sell courses, Teachable is the cheaper pick. If you want your email list, site and courses in one paid tool, Kajabi covers more.
- You mainly sell courses and want the lowest monthly price ($39, or $89 with 0% fees)
- You want student iOS and Android apps from the $39 plan
- You'd rather add email and a website from other tools
Plain link.
- You want courses, email marketing, funnels, a website and a community in one tool
- You already have a list of up to 2,500 contacts (Basic) or 25,000 (Growth)
- You want a longer free trial (14 days vs 7)
Plain link.
Key facts side by side
Source: Teachable pricing, Kajabi pricing, checked 2026-10-21 · Bars show size only.
Free plans and trials compared
| Teachable | Kajabi | |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | No | None listed |
| Free trial | 7 days | 14 days |
| Money-back guarantee | 30 days | 30 days |
| Card at signup | Not stated | A temporary authorization hold may appear if you enter a card |
| Locked during the trial | Not stated | Test emails, bulk contact imports, site-wide email templates and email automation actions |
Sources: Teachable pricing FAQ, Kajabi pricing, Kajabi trial information.
Plans and fees
| Tier | Teachable plan (monthly / yearly per month) | Teachable products and fee | Kajabi plan (monthly / yearly per month) | Kajabi products and contacts |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Entry | Starter: $39 / $29 | 5 products, 7.5% | Basic: $179 / $143 | 5 products, 2,500 contacts |
| Middle | Builder: $89 / $69 | 10 products, 0% | Growth: $249 / $199 | 50 products, 25,000 contacts |
| Upper | Growth: $189 / $139 | 50 products, 0% | Pro: $499 / $399 | Unlimited products, 100,000 contacts |
Source: www.teachable.com/pricing · kajabi.com/pricing, checked 2026-10-21. Prices change; the vendor's page is the final word.
Kajabi takes no revenue share on any plan. Teachable's 0% is with Teachable Payments. Kajabi extra contacts cost $125 a month per 25,000.
Card processing (US): Teachable Payments charges 2.9% + $0.30 for a domestic card and 4.4% + $0.30 for an international card, plus +0.5% where tax is assessed and +0.7% on recurring payments on the default Standard bundle. Kajabi Payments charges 2.9% + $0.30 on Basic, 2.8% + $0.30 on Growth and 2.7% + $0.30 on Pro for US entities.
Your own payment provider: Teachable charges US schools a 2% integration fee on its Custom Payment Gateway. Kajabi adds 2% on Basic, 1% on Growth and 0.5% on Pro for a third-party provider other than PayPal.
An example from those numbers: at $2,000 a month in sales, Teachable Starter costs $39 + $150 (7.5%) = $189, Teachable Builder $89, and Kajabi Basic $179, before processing.
Sources: Teachable pricing, Teachable fees and bundles, Kajabi pricing.
Catches on each side
- Teachable: 7.5% on every Starter sale (fees and bundles).
- Teachable: email and website features by plan are not stated in the pricing page text, so check them before you rely on Teachable for your list (pricing).
- Teachable: certificates and branding removal start on Growth at $189 a month (pricing).
- Kajabi: only 5 products on Basic. 50 products need Growth at $249 a month (pricing).
- Kajabi: some features are locked during the trial, including test emails and email automation actions, until you activate a paid plan (trial information).
- Kajabi: Kajabi branding stays on Basic (pricing).
Verdict
Pick Teachable if selling courses is the job and you want the lowest cost: $39 a month on Starter, or $89 on Builder with 0% fees once sales pass about $667 a month.
Pick Kajabi if you want one tool for courses, email, funnels, website and community, and you can cover $179 a month: Basic includes 2,500 contacts and unlimited marketing emails with no revenue share.
Full reviews: Teachable review and Kajabi review.
FAQ
Is Teachable cheaper than Kajabi?
Yes on plan price. Teachable Starter is $39 and Builder $89 a month; Kajabi Basic is $179. Teachable Starter adds a 7.5% fee on sales, and Kajabi includes email for 2,500 contacts.
Does Kajabi or Teachable take a percentage of sales?
Kajabi takes no revenue share. Teachable takes 7.5% on Starter and 0% on Builder and up with Teachable Payments. Card processing applies on both.
Which has a longer free trial?
Kajabi: 14 days, against Teachable's 7. Both list a 30-day money-back guarantee.
How many products can I sell on the cheapest plan?
5 on both Teachable Starter and Kajabi Basic.
What changed
- 2026-10-21: Written from Teachable's and Kajabi's official pricing and help pages.
Sources
All accessed 2026-10-21 (America/New_York).
- Teachable pricing and FAQ: https://www.teachable.com/pricing
- Teachable, "Understand your transaction fees and bundles": https://support.teachable.com/en/articles/15661316-understand-your-transaction-fees-and-bundles
- Kajabi pricing (monthly and annual billing): https://kajabi.com/pricing
- Kajabi, "Kajabi trial information": https://help.kajabi.com/en/articles/17174347-kajabi-trial-information