Kit and Kajabi solve different problems. Kit is an email tool: free for up to 10,000 subscribers with unlimited broadcasts, landing pages and forms, and it sells digital products and subscriptions on every plan. Automations start on Creator at $39 a month for 1,000 subscribers. Kajabi is an all-in-one course platform: Basic costs $179 a month and includes courses, coaching, memberships, a website, a community and unlimited marketing emails for 2,500 contacts. If your list matters more than your course pages, Kit costs far less. If you want courses, site and email in one place, Kajabi covers it.
- You want a free plan for a list of up to 10,000 subscribers
- Email is your main tool and you sell digital products, paid newsletters or subscriptions
- You want automations for $39 a month (Creator, 1,000 subscribers)
Plain link.
- You want courses, coaching, memberships and a community built in
- You want your website, funnels and email in the same tool
- You want no revenue share, with card processing from 2.9% + $0.30 (Kajabi Payments, US)
Plain link.
Key facts side by side
Source: Kit pricing (checked 2026-10-22), Kajabi pricing (checked 2026-10-21) · Bars show size only. Kit prices are Creator; Kajabi prices are the cheapest plan that covers the list (Basic up to 2,500 contacts, Growth up to 25,000). Kajabi lists no free plan.
Free plans and trials compared
| Kit | Kajabi | |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | Yes, up to 10,000 subscribers | None listed |
| What Free includes | Unlimited broadcasts, landing pages and forms; tags and segments; selling digital products and subscriptions | Not applicable |
| What Free leaves out | Automations and email sequences, Kit branding removal | Not applicable |
| Free trial of paid plans | 14 days, no credit card | 14 days; a temporary authorization hold may appear if you enter a card |
| Refunds | Within 30 days of the date you signed up, monthly or yearly | 30-day money-back guarantee |
Sources: Kit pricing and FAQ, the Kit Free plan, Kajabi pricing, Kajabi trial information.
Prices as your list grows
| List size | Kit Creator (monthly / yearly per month) | Kit Pro (monthly) | Cheapest Kajabi plan (monthly / yearly per month) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1,000 | $39 / $33 | $79 | Basic: $179 / $143 |
| 3,000 | $59 / $50 | $99 | Growth: $249 / $199 |
| 5,000 | $89 / $75 | $139 | Growth: $249 / $199 |
| 10,000 | $139 / $116 | $189 | Growth: $249 / $199 |
| 15,000 | $169 / $141 | $249 | Growth: $249 / $199 |
Source: kit.com/pricing · kajabi.com/pricing, checked 2026-10-22. Prices change; the vendor's page is the final word.
Kit Free covers up to 10,000 subscribers without automations. Kajabi Basic includes 2,500 contacts; at 3,000, Growth ($249) costs less than Basic plus a 25,000-contact block ($179 + $125). Kajabi prices checked 2026-10-21.
What you pay on sales: Kit charges 3.5% + 30¢ per sale of a digital product or subscription on every plan, and says this includes card processing. Kajabi takes no revenue share; Kajabi Payments charges US entities 2.9% + $0.30 on Basic (2.8% on Growth, 2.7% on Pro), and adds 2% on Basic for a third-party provider other than PayPal.
An example from those numbers: on a $100 sale, Kit's fee is $3.80 and Kajabi Basic's card processing is $3.20.
What each one is built for: Kajabi's plans list courses, coaching, memberships, a website, a community, landing pages and funnels (5 products on Basic, 50 on Growth). Kit's pricing page lists digital products, paid newsletters, recurring subscriptions and tip jars; a course builder is not stated.
Sources: Kit pricing, Kajabi pricing.
Catches on each side
- Kit: no automations on Free. Even one automatic welcome email needs Creator (Free plan).
- Kit: past 10,000 subscribers you need a paid plan to keep sending; Creator is $169 a month at 15,000 (Free plan, pricing).
- Kit: new accounts need approval before sending; Kit asks for a link to your blog or site (Kit help).
- Kit: paid plans move up a tier automatically when your list grows (pricing FAQ).
- Kajabi: $179 a month to start and only 5 products on Basic (pricing).
- Kajabi: some features are locked during the trial, including test emails, bulk contact imports and email automation actions (trial information).
- Kajabi: extra contacts cost $125 a month per 25,000 (pricing).
Verdict
Pick Kit if your email list is the business and you sell digital products or subscriptions: it's free up to 10,000 subscribers, and Creator adds automations from $39 a month, far below Kajabi at every list size in the table.
Pick Kajabi if you want courses, coaching, memberships, a website and email in one tool with no revenue share, and $179 a month (Basic, 2,500 contacts) or $249 (Growth, 25,000) fits your budget.
Full reviews: Kit review and Kajabi review.
FAQ
Is Kit cheaper than Kajabi?
Yes at every list size on the official pages. Kit is free up to 10,000 subscribers and Creator is $39 at 1,000; Kajabi starts at $179 for 2,500 contacts.
Can Kit host online courses like Kajabi?
Kit's pricing page lists digital products, paid newsletters and subscriptions; a course builder is not stated. Kajabi's plans include courses, coaching and memberships.
What do they take from sales?
Kit charges 3.5% + 30¢ per sale, including card processing. Kajabi takes no revenue share; Kajabi Payments card processing is 2.9% + $0.30 on Basic for US entities.
Do both have free trials?
Yes, 14 days each. Kit's needs no credit card; Kajabi may place a temporary authorization hold if you enter a card.
What changed
- 2026-10-22: Written from Kit's and Kajabi's official pricing and help pages (Kit prices re-checked 2026-10-22).
Sources
Kit pages accessed 2026-10-22; Kajabi pages accessed 2026-10-21 (America/New_York).
- Kit pricing, plans and FAQ (slider at 1,000 to 15,000 subscribers, monthly and yearly): https://kit.com/pricing
- Kit, "The Kit Free plan": https://help.kit.com/en/articles/16627071-the-kit-free-plan
- Kit, "Why do I need to get my account verified?": https://help.kit.com/en/articles/2502678-why-do-i-need-to-get-my-account-verified
- Kajabi pricing (monthly and annual billing): https://kajabi.com/pricing
- Kajabi, "Kajabi trial information": https://help.kajabi.com/en/articles/17174347-kajabi-trial-information